ETC Activities

The Kingdom of Tonga is comprised of 176 islands of which 40 are inhabited. Tonga is divided into three main islands Tongatapu in the south, Ha’apai in the centre, and Vava’u in the north. The capital Nuku’alofa is on the island of Tongatapu. The population of Tonga is approximately 103,000 people (Census, 2011). Approximately 70% of the country's population reside on the main island of Tongatapu.

Tonga faces disaster risk and threats from earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanic eruptions, tropical cyclones, and climate change related events such as droughts, sea level rise, flooding and erosion of low-lying areas.  Tonga lies about 200 km west of the Tonga Trench fault zone, where the Pacific Plate subducts beneath the Australian Plate. Tonga is also located within the Ring of Fire that runs around the Pacific Ocean and where most seismic activities occurs.

The Tonga National Emergency Management Office (NEMO) was established under the Emergency Management Act 2007. The NEMO's primary function is to coordinate disaster risk reduction (DRR) and emergency management activities in the Kingdom of Tonga. A national cluster system was created under the coordination structure of the NEMO in 2015, and the national clusters in Tonga are lead by relevant line ministries. The national Telecommunications Cluster is lead by the Department of Communications under the Ministry of MEIDECC. 

The contact details of the Tonga NEMO are:

The ETC is focussed on preparedness activities in Tonga and nearby Pacific Island countries under its Pacific Emergency Preparedness and Response (EPR) project, lead by WFP.

Current Operations
Asset 681
Key Documents
Asset 767
Asset 772
Asset 767
Asset 767