Solomon Islands

ETC Activities

Solomon Islands consist of six large islands and over 900 smaller islands. Only one third of the total 992 islands are populated. The largest island is Guadalcanal and other major islands are Makira, San Cristobal, Vella Lavella, Choisuel, Rennel, New Georgia and Santa Cruz group. Solomon Islands are located in a seismically active region. The population of Solomon Islands is approximately 622,000 (CIA World Factboook, 2015). The capital of Solomon Islands is Honiara with a population of  approximately 64,000. Honiara is located on the island of Guadalcanal.

Contact details and social media channels for the Solomon Islands National Disaster Management Office (NDMO):

The ETC is focused on preparedness activities in Solomon Islands and nearby Pacific Island countries under its Pacific Emergency Preparedness and Response (EPR) project, lead by WFP.